Nowadays, you can’t escape. There is an abundance of ‘HEALTHY’ people from all over the world. Everyone wants to look good, eat ‘CLEAN’ and show as many muscles as possible. But what if you add the hashtag #lactosefree to that row? How can you join the hype and also drink a lovely ‘Protein Shake’ after your workout?
Choose the lactose free variant. IT EXISTS! And what makes me happy; there are plenty to choose from.
Whey protein are proteins derived from milk. So it contains lactose.
I will briefly explain to you what the different types of lactose free proteins are, and how you can find them (google). These proteins are mainly derived from soya, peas, beef and egg instead of milk.
Zero lactose protein: a mixture of egg protein, soy isolate and pea white isolate. Isolate means that it is an even higher concentrated protein.
Green protein (Vegan): A mixture of peas, rice and hemp protein. For the vegans and vegetarians among us.
Egg protein: The name says it all; Egg white.
Beef protein: Proteins extracted from meat.
Isopure: is made of cow milk (whey) but is filtered so that all lactose has been removed.
Taste differ… what one person likes, the finds disgusting. It is up to you to test and also the prices vary. The process of making Isopure takes longer than whey for example, so they are more expensive. Read the labels carefully before ordering. For example, egg protein contains little to no fat. Also the amount of sugars is different per protein (shake). So determine your goal so you can choose the protein that suits you best.